Bernd-Ludwig's Website

Valid HTML 4.01 Strict Valid CSS!

Hardware >> Serial Port

The serial port

There are two variations of serial ports on a PC: 9-pin and 25-pin ports. The more common one is the one with 9 pins. Here a view on a 9-pin connector (male, the numbering of the female side is just the other way round).

serial port

The pin assignment is as follows:

PIN (9-pin interface) PIN (partially used 25-pin interface) Function
1 8 CD (Carrier Detect)
2 3 RXD (Receive Data)
3 2 TXD (Transmit Data)
4 20 DTR (Data Terminal Ready)
5 7 GND (Ground)
6 6 DSR (Data Set Ready)
7 4 RTS (Request To Send)
8 5 CTS (Clear To Send)
9 22 RI (Ring Indicator)

So, the pins with the functions RXD and TXD are intended for the actual data exchange, the signals DTR and RTS are outgoing control signals, the signals CD, DSR, CTS and RI are incoming status signals. The signal voltages are +12V for HIGH and -12V for LOW (these values can vary slightly on different PCs).

Another remark concerning serial interfaces: On some mainboards, the serial ports are connected to the mainboard with a cable and a 10-pin connector. This is the case especially for old AT boards and for newer boards where the connector places in the back panel are occupied by other connectors such as VGA and DVI. For those serial port connectors on the boards, there are two different pin assignments, so not every mainboard is compatible to every cable. The connectors nevertheless look the same!! So here is the pin assignment:

PIN (Board) PIN (9-pin, version 1) PIN (9-pin, version 2)
1 1 1
2 2 6
3 3 2
4 4 7
5 5 3
6 6 8
7 7 4
8 8 9
9 9 5

Bernd-Ludwigs Homepage

Valid HTML 4.01 Strict Valid CSS!

Hardware >> Serielle Schnittstelle

Die serielle Schnittstelle

Es gibt zwei Ausführungen der seriellen Anschlüsse an PCs: 9-polige und 25-polige.Die häufigere Version ist hierbei die 9-polige. Hier die Sicht auf einen 9-poligen Stecker (bei einer Buchse ist die Numerierung dementsprechend genau anders herum).

serielle Schnittstelle

Die Belegung der Pins ist wie folgt:

PIN (9-polige Schnittstelle) PIN (teilbelegte 25-polige Schnittstelle) Funktion
1 8 CD (Carrier Detect)
2 3 RXD (Receive Data)
3 2 TXD (Transmit Data)
4 20 DTR (Data Terminal Ready)
5 7 GND (Ground)
6 6 DSR (Data Set Ready)
7 4 RTS (Request To Send)
8 5 CTS (Clear To Send)
9 22 RI (Ring Indicator)

Die Pins mit Funktion RXD und TXD sind also für den eigentlichen Datenverkehr gedacht, die Signale DTR und RTS sind ausgehende Steuersignale, die Signale CD, DSR, CTS und RI sind einkommende Statussignale. Die Pegel der Signale liegen bei +12V für HIGH und -12V für LOW (diese Werte können von PC zu PC leicht unterschiedlich sein).

Eine weitere Anmerkung zu den seriellen Schnittstellen: Bei einigen Mainboards sind die seriellen Anschlüsse, die dann meist in einem Slotblech stecken, mit einem Flachkabel und einem 10-poligen Stecker auf dem Mainboard angeschlossen. Dies betrifft vor allem alte AT-Boards und Boards, bei denen die seriellen Anschlüsse zugunsten von anderen Anschlüssen (z.B. VGA, DVI) weichen müssen. Für die 10-poligen Anschlüsse auf den Boards gibt es zwei Pinbelegungen, deshalb passt nicht jedes Board zu jedem Kabel. Die Stecker sehen äußerlich gleich aus!! Hier die Pinbelegung:

PIN (Board) PIN (9-pol., Version 1) PIN (9-pol., Version 2)
1 1 1
2 2 6
3 3 2
4 4 7
5 5 3
6 6 8
7 7 4
8 8 9
9 9 5