Bernd-Ludwig's Website

Valid HTML 4.01 Strict Valid CSS!

Fli4l on an ALIX

Installation and Operation of a Fli4l-Router on an ALIX-System

Introduction and installation

End of 2008, I replaced my fli4l, which had been running on an old PC, by a fresh installation on an ALIX. I replaced the PC by the ALIX because it is

  1. smaller
  2. less energy consuming
  3. and silent.

First of all, what is an ALIX? An ALIX is an embedded PC with an AMD Geode CPU. In my case, it is an ALIX 2D3, which I bought as a bundle with a case, a power supply and a CompactFlash card (see photo).
Alix-Set

What makes the ALIX different from a PC and complicates the installation a bit is that it does not have a floppy drive and a video output, and that it is supposed to run without keyboard. Meanwhile, it has a serial port that may be used for a serial console.
What is additionally needed for the fli4l Installation is a PC with a card reader and a serial cable (null modem cable).

I assume that someone who considers installing fli4l on an ALIX is not totally new to fli4l, so I will not cover fli4l basics here.
The fli4l package preparation is quite normal. If the fli4l is supposed to run as a DSL router, the following packages are required or recommended for a basic system: base, kernel_2_6_xx, chrony, dsl, hd, sshd, OPT_EMBEDDED.
In the package configurations, the following settings should be used:

If the package usb is to be used as addtitional package (e.g. for a USB printer), the driver setting to be chosen in usb.txt is USB_LOWLEVEL='ohci ehci'.

Now that the packages are configured, the whole stuff has to be packaged with mkfli4l and put on the CF card, which of course should be in the card reader now. The Windows version mkfli4l.bat contains a GUI which includes the option "Direct HD-Install". This makes the CF card preparation quite easy under Windows.
The Linux version mkfli4l.sh unfortunately does not offer this. So what to do here? First, the files that were created by mkfli4l.sh can be copied to the CF card. Additionally, a file with information on the "hard disk" partitions is required, the file hd.cfg. This can be created manually, and assuming that the CF is not split to multiple partitions, the content is just the following line:
hd_boot='hda1'
What is still missing now is the bootability of the CF card. To create this, the card first has to be unmounted. Then, syslinux can be used to make the card bootable. Assuming that the card in the card reader is labeled /dev/sda1 on the PC, the command
syslinux /dev/sda1
makes it bootable.

The fli4l installation on the CF card is now complete. Now, the ALIX should be made operational. For this purpose, it needs to be connected to the PC with the serial cable, and a serial console, e.g. minicom, should be opened on the PC with the baudrate and communication settings set to 38400 8 N 1. After this, the ALIX power supply can be plugged in. During the ALIX's memory test, the BIOS can be accessed by the key s. This should be done in order to modify some settings:

When these settings are done and the CF card is plugged in the ALIX, the ALIX can be booted. Now, it should be able to fulfill all duties of a fli4l router. Done!

Operation experiences

As the ALIX is already operational in my home network for some time, I would like to write about a few experiences here. First of all, the operation setup:
The ALIX currently runs fli4l version 3.6.1. Apart from the "normal" tasks of a fli4l (DSL-Router, DHCP-Server), my printer is also connected to the ALIX via USB. The router is usually off at night or when I am not at home. This means it is usually booted and shutdown once or twice a day.

Usually, the ALIX runs without problems. The only issues worth to mention are:

Legacy fli4l versions

When I put the ALIX into operation for the first time, 3.2.2 was the latest stable version. Compared to the current version, I was using a few different settings:

Bernd-Ludwigs Homepage

Valid HTML 4.01 Strict Valid CSS!

Fli4l auf einem ALIX

Installation und Betrieb eines Fli4l-Routers auf einem ALIX-System

Einleitendes und Installation

Ende 2008 habe ich meinen fli4l, der bisher auf einem alten PC lief, durch eine Neuinstallation auf einen ALIX ersetzt. Den Umstieg von PC auf ALIX habe ich gemacht, weil der ALIX

  1. kleiner
  2. stromsparender
  3. und lautlos ist.

Was ist überhaupt ein ALIX? Ein ALIX ist ein Embedded-PC mit einem AMD Geode-Prozessor. In meinem Fall handelt es sich um einen ALIX 2D3, den ich im Paket mit Gehäuse, CompactFlash-Karte (CF-Karte) und Netzteil gekauft habe (s. Foto).
Alix-Set

Was den ALIX von einem PC unterscheidet und die Installation von fli4l etwas erschwert, ist, dass der ALIX kein Diskettenlaufwerk und keinen Monitorausgang hat und außerdem ohne Tastatur laufen soll. Er hat aber eine serielle Schnittstelle, die für eine serielle Konsole verwendet werden kann.
Was man zur Installation des fli4l jetzt noch braucht, ist ein PC mit Kartenlesegerät und ein serielles Kabel (Nullmodem-Kabel).

Ich gehe davon aus, dass jemand, der einen fli4l auf einem ALIX installieren möchte, sich nicht zum ersten Mal mit fli4l befasst. Daher gehe ich auf fli4l-Grundlagen hier nicht ein.
Die Vorbereitung der fli4l-Pakete ist relativ normal. Wenn der fli4l als DSL-Router laufen soll, sind folgende Pakete als Grundausstattung notwendig bzw. empfehlenswert: base, kernel_2_6_xx, chrony, dsl, hd, sshd, OPT_EMBEDDED.
Was man bei den Paketen beachten sollte sind folgende Einstellungen:

Wenn man noch das Paket usb verwenden will (z.B. für einen USB-Drucker), ist in der usb.txt USB_LOWLEVEL='ohci ehci' die richtige Treiberauswahl.

Wenn jetzt also die Pakete richtig konfiguriert sind, muss das Ganze einmal per mkfli4l übersetzt und auf die CF-Karte gebracht werden. Die sollte natürlich im Kartenleser stecken. Die Windows-Variante mkfli4l.bat bietet eine grafische Oberfläche inklusive der Option "Direct HD-Install", die das Ganze recht einfach macht.
Die Linux-Variante mkfli4l.sh bietet das leider nicht. Was tut man also hier? Erst mal kann man die mit mkfli4l.sh erzeugten Dateien auf die Karte kopieren. Außerdem braucht man noch eine Datei mit Informationen über die "Festplatte", nämlich die Datei hd.cfg. Die kann man auch von Hand erstellen, darin muss (sofern man die CF-Karte nicht in mehrere Partitionen unterteilt hat) nur stehen:
hd_boot='hda1'
Nun fehlt noch die Bootfähigkeit der CF-Karte. Um die zu erzeugen, wird erst mal die Karte unmountet. Nun kann man mit syslinux die Karte bootfähig machen. Angenommen, die Karte im Kartenleser ist als /dev/sda1 am System bekannt, macht man also mit
syslinux /dev/sda1
die CF-Karte bootfähig.

Die CF-Karte mit der fli4l-Installation ist jetzt fertig. Jetzt soll der ALIX in Betrieb genommen werden. Dazu verbindet man ihn per Nullmodemkabel mit dem PC, öffnet am PC eine serielle Konsole, z.B. minicom, stellt die Baudrate auf 38400 und die Übertragungseinstellungen auf 8 N 1. Erst dann versorgt man den ALIX mit Strom. Während des Memory-Tests kann man mit s ins BIOS kommen, was man auch machen sollte, weil da noch Kleinigkeiten verstellt werden sollten:

Wenn diese Einstellungen vorgenommen wurden und die CF-Karte im ALIX steckt, kann man nun den ALIX richtig booten. Nun sollte der ALIX alle Pflichten eines fli4l-Routers erfüllen können. Fertig!

Erfahrungen im Langzeitbetrieb

Da der ALIX nun schon einige Zeit bei mir in Betrieb ist, möchte ich hier jetzt ein paar Erfahrungen anfügen. Zuerst mal die Randbedingungen:
Auf dem ALIX läuft zur Zeit die fli4l-Version 3.6.1. Neben der "normalen" Funktion des fli4l (DSL-Router, DHCP-Server) hängt mein Drucker über USB am ALIX. Der Router ist im Allgemeinen nur an, wenn ich zu Hause bin; nachts ist er auch aus. Das bedeutet, er wird im Schnitt 1-2 mal am Tag herauf- und heruntergefahren.

Im Allgemeinen läuft der ALIX problemlos. Die einzigen erwähnenswerten Punkte:

Ältere fli4l-Versionen

Zum Zeitpunkt der ersten Inbetriebnahme meines ALIX war fli4l-Version 3.2.2 aktuell. Gegenüber der jetzigen Version hatte ich dort folgende Einstellungen anders: